Margaritas!

This month was by far the most exciting challenge. I didn’t have to deal with raw meat, it was an excuse to have some friends over, and I didn’t have to spend more than like 10 minutes in the kitchen.

I decided to make margaritas. Honestly, I didn’t go outside of the box too much, but I did try a new recipe.

I made a spicy cucumber margarita. It was so good and so easy. I definitely recommend it and will probably even make it again myself. It wasn’t that spicy…in fact, I’d probably turn up the heat a little bit next time. It also wasn’t overly cucumber-y.

You need:

  • 2-3 cucumbers, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup tequila
  • 2 tablespoons triple sec (what is triple sec anyway?)
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice (I just used 3 juicy limes)
  • 1 jalapeno, sliced.

First, add the cucumber to the food processor and puree. Then, run the puree through a mesh strainer. You want to discard the pulp and save the juice.

Second, combine the sugar and water in a saucepan. Heat on low until the sugar dissolves.

Third, combine all ingredients in a pitcher and refrigerate.

Fourth, Enjoy!!

The second margarita I made was a blackberry margarita. I basically created just a regular lime margarita, but added blackberry syrup.

Blackberry Syrup:

  • 1 pint fresh berries
  • 1/8 cup sugar
  • 1/2 a lime

To make the blackberry syrup I took the fresh berries, mixed them with the  sugar, and some lime juice in a saucepan. I cooked on low heat for 20-30 ish minutes. Towards the 20 ish minute mark, I started breaking up the blackberries to make the juice. Once they were broken up, I strained the blackberries with a fine mesh strainer (also used for the cucumbers above) and pressed the blackberries down to get the juice.

Both margaritas were really good, although I’m not sure the blackberry one was worth the cost of the blackberries. The cucumber was my favorite!

As you can see, I did a really great job taking pictures. I’ll be better next time!

 

Leave a Reply

