Burgers

Friends, I kind of failed in June. I didn’t blog about either of my burger attempts. I did make two different kinds of burgers, though, in two different ways. Here’s the make up post:

Burger 1: I mixed half a pound of bacon in with two pounds of ground beef.

IMG_3658

Oh, I added some cheese too!

IMG_3660

I used the food processor to kind of grind up the bacon before mixing the bacon, cheese, and beef in a bowl. I also added the usual egg, breadcrumbs, and seasonings (I didn’t take a picture and a month later I don’t really remember what seasonings…I always just make it up as I go along anyway).

IMG_3661

We were having people over!!! I didn’t just make 2.5 pounds of burgers for two people. But the part of making burgers that I need to perfect is the sizing of them. I never know what size to form the patties into because they always shrink when they are cooked. If anybody has a tip, let me know!

Anyway, Burger 1 was delicious. I don’t have a picture of it, but I added some diced jalapenos (that I froze from my garden last year!) to half of the batch and those were great too. If you’re looking to switch things up once in a while, I’d definitely try bacon, cheese, and jalapeno.

Burger 2: Like Janine, I’m a fan of the black bean burger. It doesn’t replace a regular burger in my mind, but it’s something different to have once in a while.

IMG_3741

I followed this recipe and they were super easy and delicious. You basically mix most of the ingredients together in the food processor, stir in a few more, and then form them into patties. We tried grilling them, but they weren’t firm enough, so I ended up cooking them on the stove.

IMG_3742

Ok, so they aren’t super attractive, but they are worth trying. That fish spatula that you see is also a must try. It’s my go-to spatula.

So, June is finally done. I’ll be doing another quick post at the end of July with some cocktails!!

Leave a Reply

