Say it Ain’t Cilantro Burger (Actually, black bean burger).

OMG this burger is so good.  Just.  So. Good.

I first tried a black bean burger at a local restaurant, I never thought I’d like it, but it turned out to be something I’d crave from time to time.  When this month was burgers, I knew I wanted to give black bean a whirl at home.

The recipe I chose is super easy, but it involves lots of ingredients, and each requires at least one prep step.  I pulled the recipe from a great local cookbook (this one is from a local TV personality).

image

In my research I found that most black bean burger recipes are pretty labor intensive when prepping the patty.

img_3011

The recipe calls for: onion (chopped), garlic cloves (whole), cumin. Into the food processor and pulse until roughly chopped

img_3012

Plus: black beans, bread crumbs, and chopped cilantro.  Add these and pulse until it’s just combined.

Then toasted chopped walnuts, salt, pepper, and one beaten egg. Mix it up.  Into patties and then into the fridge for an hour.

img_3010

While it was chilling I made some I topped it with some cilantro lime aioli with: mayo, Greek yogurt, lime juice, cilantro, garlic, salt & pepper.  The recipe calls for finely chopped cilantro, but I didn’t like the cilantro when chopped by hand, so I went after the mixture with my immersion blender.

The recipe called for cooking this on a grill pan for 4-6 minutes per side.  Since I’m grill-less I did some googling and decided that 6 minutes on my George Foreman should be good.

Things started to fall apart a little as I took the patties off the grill.  Next time I will pulse for longer, and maybe add another egg yolk to help keep the patties together.  Uniform sizing would probably also help.

img_3013

Final burger included some guacamole on the bottom, burger, a little bit of feta cheese (I had it on hand), and the cilantro lime aioli.  Yum!

I’m a definitely adding these to the my regular rotation!

 

(also, fun fact, the titles for both my blog posts come from the TV Show Bob’s Burgers.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

