Steak 3

I know, I’ve already done 2 steaks this month, but I wanted to try one more. I wanted to see if there was much difference between a steak on the grill and a steak cooked inside.

First…what cut to buy?? I had two recommendations for top sirloin steak, so that’s what I went with this time.

Second…how?? My mom suggested looking up a recipe from Alton Brown. He said to get a cast iron skillet, put it in the oven and preheat the oven to 500 degrees. Once the oven was preheated, take the skillet out of the oven and put it the stove on high heat. Prep the steak with canola oil, salt, and pepper. Sear the steak by putting in the pan for 30 seconds each side. Then put the pan and steak together in the oven for 2 minutes a side.

Boyfriend pointed out that the steak I bought was massive and that he didn’t think that short of a cook time would cook the steak to my preferred doneness.


He’s a pretty smart guy, and I agreed with him…especially when I remembered Alton Browns recipe was for a ribeye steak.

After some discussion, I preheated the oven, seared the steak, and then put it in the oven for 5 ish minutes and then another minute or two after I flipped it.


There was a little smoke detector incident, but everything turned out great! I would definitely use this method in the future.

So steak month is over. I learned that rib eye and sirloin are the cuts of steak I should buy in the future. Also that if I need to make a steak by myself, the inside method would be best because I don’t have to deal with the grill.

One thought on “Steak 3

Leave a Reply

