Week 49 – Clean Eating

To me, clean eating is all about eating foods that are unprocessed or minimally processed. For this blog post, I enlisted the help of my friend, Chelsey. She also joined me in Week 4 for Freezing. Chelsey is a personal trainer in Mankato. She’s also doing a summer challenge where she has weekly healthy related challenges. This week her challenge was no refined grains, so our challenges matched up!

Chelsey suggested a recipe she saw on Pinterest for Quinoa Stuffed Avocados. As you can see, this has no refined grains and everything is minimally processed.

Chelsey and I are no strangers to quinoa. In the past, we’ve made Mexican Quinoa Salad, Quinoa and Spinach Stuffed Tomatoes, Cilantro Quinoa Soup, and even Quinoa Mac & Cheese. In fact, I made Quinoa Black Bean Tacos in Week 6 and Janine made quinoa in her Week 25 post. Chelsey and I seem to love all things quinoa and were pretty excited about the Quinoa Stuffed Avocados.

First thing you have to do is pick out an avocado. I’ve recently learned that this can be a challenge for some, so I thought I’d give some tips:

  1. The skin has to be dark green, but shouldn’t look like it’s rotted
  2. When picking up the avocado, it shouldn’t be too mushy but it definitely shouldn’t be hard.

Not super helpful, I know. But at least for this recipe, the avocado doesn’t have to be perfectly ripe.

Anyway, back to the recipe…

  1. Make some quinoa. Check out the Week 6 post for instructions.
  2. While the quinoa is cooling, make some Texas Caviar. This is easy and you’ll have leftovers, so plan to have some friends over for happy hour in the next few days.
  3. Combine 2 cups of the Texas Caviar and the quinoa you just made.
  4. Cut the avocado in half and remove the skin and pit. Coat the avocado with lime juice. I think this is for flavor and to reduce browning.
  5. Fill the avocados with the quinoa mixture.
  6. Top with whatever you want to make it look pretty…hot sauce, limes, tomatoes, cilantro, etc.

IMG_2689

Here’s the Texas Caviar. It was a huge hit at my happy hour earlier this week!

IMG_2691

Not the most attractive dish I’ve made, but it tasted really good.

Chelsey and I both thought this was the perfect clean eating summertime recipe, but we had some thoughts:

  1. This is a side dish. It didn’t fill us up. If you make it, cook a chicken breast too.
  2. With the leftover quinoa mixture, you can add stuff to make it a salad, like avocado, chicken, more veggies, etc.
  3. If you want it to look really nice, maybe scoop out more of the avocado halves to allow for more of the quinoa filling.

I’ll definitely be making this again!

Leave a Reply

