Week 47 – Epic Salads

I love salads. You can take your leftovers, add lettuce and some dressing, and you have a salad. For this week, I was pretty sure I wouldn’t do anything different than the norm, but started by Googling “Epic Salads”.

I learned that to build the perfect/healthiest salad, you should: 1. Start with dark, leafy greens, like spinach, arugula, and romaine; 2. Add carrots; 3. Add tomatoes; 4. “Heap on beans”; 5. Fold in fish (or chicken, right?); 6. Add avocado; 7. Use a vinaigrette; 8/9. Garnish with citrus peel instead of croutons.

I also learned “how to make a manly salad“, which has the same general idea, but is easier to tailor to your personal preferences. You just need greens, plants (veggies, fruit, nuts), animals (meat, eggs, cheese), and dressing. I really liked their dressing recipe because it just had five ingredients (EVOO, Vinegar, Dijon mustard, Salt, Pepper).

After sufficient Googling, I felt prepared to make a salad that was good enough to share…

 

We started by grilling some romaine and chopping up veggies.

IMG_2663

We used green pepper, carrots, avocado, cucumber, tomato, and cooked snap peas. It was really a mixture of what we had in the fridge and a few “must haves” from the grocery store.

We also added some cooked corn leftover from a cob earlier in the week and leftover chicken for the protein. I failed to get pictures of these, but they looked (and tasted) pretty good.

IMG_2664

Finally, I made a lemon vinaigrette. It was pretty good and super easy–I had all of the ingredients on hand.

I didn’t love the grilled lettuce because it was a little slimy…maybe we did something wrong? But other than that, the salad turned out really well. I love making specific salads like in this post: 8 Epic Salads for Summer, but I usually find it more practical to use the ingredients I already have on hand.

Leave a Reply

