Week 46 – Local Ingredients 

Who doesn’t enjoy a good farmer’s market?

For this week’s challenge, of course I had to head to the St. Paul Farmer’s Market for some goodies.


Those soaps are awesome.


Everything looked so lovely I couldn’t decide which local ingredient to focus on.

I went with zucchini and blueberries.

With the zucchini, I really wanted to try out Zoodles, so I picked up a cheap spiralizer at and chose a Skinny Taste recipe for some Noodle Caprese.

First, the spiralizer.


So easy, and the cleanup was quick too.  You really just twist it and the noodles (or Zoodles) come out the other end.

I didn’t go for the big, multi-blade spiralizer mostly for kitchen-space reasons, and because I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about the Zoodles.

(Hint, they were great).

I seasoned & brown the chicken.  Then cooked the garlic.


Then simmered the tomatoes with the garlic (there’s also supposed to be basil at some point . . . Whoops)


Once the tomatoes have simmered, you toss in the zucchini for a few minutes and stir in your chicken. I added some balls of fresh mozzarella and was good to go!

As for the blueberries I tried a recipe out of a local cookbook. It’s called a summer fruit fool.


Blueberries + honey in the food processor.


Plus any kind of liquor. They recommended orange, I had Lillet on-hand and thought I’d give it a whirl.


I whipped up some heavy cream, and added in the puréed blueberries. Then chilled it for a bit.


The result was yummy, different, and definitely summer.

Things I’d do differently:

  • Basil for the Caprese
  • Cook the zucchini a touch longer
  • Strawberries + blueberries in the fruit fool.

Up next, Lisa had an amazing challenge: Epic Salads.

Leave a Reply

