Week 44 – Historic/Famous Dishes

Happy 4th of July! 

I tried to find the food they ate after the signing of the Declaration of Independence, but apparently there is no known record of the post-signing celebratory meal. 

But it is strawberry season, which is my favorite fruit, so I did some research and found an old old recipe – Strawberry Shortcake.  Shortcakes have been around for years in various forms. 

It’s also my birthday! So my mom and I decided we’d make some strawberry shortcakes together! (When I say we, I mean she, I just took pictures). 

She mixed up the dry ingredients: flour, sugar, baking powder, salt. 


Cut in the butter. 


Kneaded in some cream until it stuck together. 


Kneaded & rolled the dough. 


Cut out the shortcakes. 


Baked away. 


Split the short cakes, topped with strawberries, and ice cream. 


Perfection!

The shortcakes were flaky and yummy, and we put ice cream I the middle for some added deliciousness!

Thanks, mom, for such yummy treats!

Come back next week for some ‘Murica dishes! 

One thought on “Week 44 – Historic/Famous Dishes

Leave a Reply

