Week 42 – Book Inspired

I’m one of those people who, when asked, tends to be hard-pressed to pick her favorite books.  Usually I have to give a list, provide caveats, and spend way more time thinking about which books I love the most, than is really necessary.

Always, always, always at the top of my list, will be the Harry Potter books.  I’ve read them more times than I can remember, and love pretty much everything about them.  The movies are excellent as well – I went to my fair share of midnight showings over the years.


For my birthday a few years ago I got two great Harry Potter themed presents – a pint glass and a cookbook.  I’ve been excited to use them in this challenge since we started this almost a year ago.

 For this challenge to make two classic dishes that are Harry Potter themed (or at least found in the books): Cornish Pasties and Butterbeer (of course).

For the Pasties I mixed together flour, salt, and butter into a dough and chilled it.


I chopped up a potato, onion, carrot, and some beef and mixed it all with some salt and pepper.


Then I rolled out the dough, cut it into circles, added some of the filling, and baked it for about an hour.  This was seriously, so easy.

For the Butterbeer I looked all over the place to find a recipe and found a few options: Intoxicology’s Butterbeer.


I whipped up some cream (which I added some butterscotch to).


The recipes all recommended vanilla vodka, which I didn’t have so I used Cake, this was maybe a mistake.

I poured in the Cream Soda and added some caramel, and topped it with the butterscotch whipped cream.


It was pretty yummy, though I’d use the vanilla vodka, or just skip the booze all together.

I had such a fun time with this challenge!

Things I learned:

  • Dice my potatoes smaller – they got a little too big in the filling
  • Cut down on the amount of filling, I definitely had leftovers.
  • Definitely don’t make pasties on a 90 degree day.
  • I probably (definitely) need to travel to Harry Potter World to try some ‘real’ Butterbeer!

Come back next week – Lisa is covering Opposite Side of the World.

I’m off to read some Harry Potter!

Leave a Reply

