Week 39 – Alton Brown

Who is Alton Brown? Good question, friends. I know Alton Brown from the TV Show, Cutthroat Kitchen. It’s a goofy cooking show where four chefs compete against each other in three rounds, but they can sabotage each other. The sabotages are crazy, but entertaining. Alton Brown is the host of Cutthroat Kitchen, and a few others.

In week 5 (so long ago!), Janine made pretzels from one of Alton Brown’s recipes.

Ideally, I’d use one of his cookbooks to find a recipe to make for this week, or I’d try to mimic Cutthroat Kitchen, and do some sort of cooking challenge. Unfortunately, I didn’t plan ahead, and I’m heading out of town on Thursday night. Instead, I found his website and looked at his featured recipes.

I made hummus. I’ve never loved the hummus you can get at the store, and prefer it from Greek or Turkish restaurants. I’ve also never tried to make it at home, and this was my chance!

Alton Brown’s Hummus Recipe

Ingredients:

chickpeas aka garbanzo beans, drained, liquid reserved

garlic, minced

kosher salt

cumin

tahini

lemon juice

extra-virgin olive oil

Directions:

1. Drain chickpeas (save the liquid!) and put them in the food processor

2. Mince garlic and put it in the food processor with the chickpeas. I’m not sure why you have to mince it before you put it in the food processor, but I did it anyway.

3. Also add in the salt and cumin. This recipe calls for kosher salt. As you can see, I have lots of salt on hand for recipes like this.

4. Process for 20 to 30 seconds. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add tahini and process for another 15 seconds.

This is the tahini I purchased. When at the store, I saw some labeled “tahini” but it was a massive container and cost like $10. Luckily, I looked harder and found a can that was less than $4…

But I was concerned about the difference in spelling. Good thing there was clarification on the back…

4. Add lemon juice to the food processor. It calls for 5 tablespoons…I used half of a juicy lemon. Also add 1/4 of the reserved bean liquid. Process for 20 seconds, then scrape down the sides of the bowl.

5. With the processor running, drizzle in 1/4 cup olive oil and process for 20 seconds.

There it is! It still isn’t my favorite hummus. I think there was too much tahini. If I make it again, I’d put in 1/2 a cup of tahini and taste it before adding anymore.

If you have a hummus recipe that you love, or any suggestions to alter this recipe, please share!

Next week Janine is doing Unexpected Combinations. Have any ideas for her?

Leave a Reply

