Week 37 – Presentation

Guys. This week is the week I’ve been waiting for. I was able to use this blog as an excuse to make two of my favorite foods: nachos and s’mores. Since this week is all about presentation, I scrolled through my Pinterest boards trying to think about what I could make that would look pretty. I found a pin for Tequila Lime Sheet Pan Nachos and Skillet S’mores. Both looked beautiful and delicious, so I had to try them out.

First, I cooked the chicken using taco seasoning, tequila, and lime juice. I might never cook chicken any other way!

The nachos recipe also called for homemade Queso. One tip: take the time to shred or finely chop the cheese before melting it with the half and half.

Here are the nachos before we put them in the oven. We put the chicken, beans, olives, onions and cheese on and then put them in the oven until the cheese melted. The recipe say to bake them for 10-15 minutes at 350 degrees. We didn’t use a timer, but I know I didn’t wait more than 10 minutes…I was starving.

img_2484

Nachos! Aren’t they beautiful? After they came out of the oven we added the pico de gallo, avocado, sour cream, and cilantro. We decided refried beans would be delicious, but wouldn’t look good (remember, it’s all about presentation this week!)

And now for the S’mores…heat up a skillet pan (either in the oven or on the stove) and melt butter in it. Put a layer of chocolate chips down.

Then nicely arrange some marshmallows on top of the chocolate chips…

And stick under a broiler. Isn’t this the cutest little skillet pan?

Doesn’t this look great?

Then you just dig in with some graham crackers…or a spoon.

Next time, I’d use more chocolate chips and smaller marshmallows. I thought the proportions were off, but either way it was delicious, and, more importantly, looked great!

Next week, Janine will be posting about a Julia Child recipe!

Leave a Reply

