Week 36 – Eggs

Sometimes the challenge topics for each week are really an opportunity to try something new and different. Sometimes it’s about making something you probably would’ve made anyway. This time it was a teensy bit of both.

Generally, I like eggs. I try not to think too hard about what an egg is, especially the texture of a raw egg. I usually need to have something like cheese or vegetables or ketchup on my eggs to make them more .  .  . palatable.

Eggs are a super good way to start the morning, but making eggs usually involves the creation of dishes that need to be washed . . . and I really don’t like doing the dishes. As a make-ahead meal, I’d tried to make some “baked eggs in a muffin tin” before, and they’d ended up kind of gross, or over cooked.

I thought I’d use this challenge to give the baked eggs another whirl. This time, I  read over a few recipes and threw something together with what I had on hand. This recipe looks a lot like some popular ones on Pinterest (spinach & sausage) but I tried to use what I had on hand: leftover Alfresco sausages in the freezer, spinach, white onions, and cheese. I also played around with the number of eggs, egg whites, etc.  some recipes said 10, some said 12, some said only egg whites, etc.  I decided for a combo.

Sausage & Spinach Baked Egg Muffin Things

  • 6 eggs
  • 6 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheese
  • Salt & pepper
  • 1/8 (ish) cup minced onion
  • 1-2 cups chopped fresh baby spinach
  • 6 oz sausage (I used 2 links of Alfresco sweet Italian sausage)

Pre-heat your oven to 350.

Spray your muffin tin with cooking spray (If you don’t, things get messy, trust me, I’ve tried this before.)


Whisk together eggs, egg whites, cheese, salt, & pepper in bowl.

Sauté the onions, wilt the spinach, heat up the sausage.

Divide evenly into muffin cups. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes.

Cool & enjoy!

I’m excited to have some go-to breakfast this week that are a decent way to start the day!

I had 2 for breakfast this morning and they were delicious and very filling!

Things I learned:

  • Umm. This was simple, but I’m kind of proud that I did it mostly on my own.
  • Maybe use a more crumble sausage nextime so it’s in smaller bits in the egg cup – but the flavor of this sausage was great (Sweet Italian).

Come back next week, Lisa will be focusing on presentation (ooooh #fancy)!!

Leave a Reply

