Week 33 – TV Show Inspired

“Zerts are what I call desserts. Tray-trays are entrées. I call sandwiches ‘sammies,’ ‘sandoozles,’ or ‘Adam Sandlers.’ Air conditioners are ‘cool blasterz.’ I call cakes ‘big ol’ cookies.’ I call noodles ‘long-ass rice.’ Fried chicken is ‘fry-fry chicky-chick.’ Chicken parm is ‘chicky-chicky-parm-parm.’ Chicken cacciatore? ‘Chicky-cach.’ I call eggs ‘pre-birds,’ or ‘future birds.’ Root beer is ‘super water.’ Tortillas are ‘bean blankets.’ And I call forks ‘food rakes.'” – Tom Haverford

This is one of the best Tom Haverford quotes. Aziz Ansari plays Tom Haverford in Parks and Recreation. It’s one of my favorite shows and Tom is by far the best character. When I had to think of something to make that was inspired by a TV show, this quote was the first thing that crossed my mind. It doesn’t hurt that Janine just got me a poster of this quote for my kitchen. Perfect, right?

Anyway, this week I made Chicken and Waffles. I made waffles because waffles are Leslie Knope’s (the main character in Parks and Rec, played by Amy Poehler) favorite food. I made the fried chicken (or, as Tom would say, ‘fry-fry chicky-chick’) because of the above quote…and also because I needed something to compliment the waffles and make this week a little challenging.

Luckily I had a couple of friends, Pam and Anna, who were willing to come over and try this meal! They were skeptical, but both admitted that it wasn’t as weird as they thought.

Before we get into the recipe…I have to admit…I cheated a little:

IMG_2370

But I did make the fried chicken. I used this recipe from a BuzzFeed Article.

IMG_2359

First, marinate the chicken in buttermilk and some spices. I let it sit overnight.

IMG_2363

Take the chicken breasts from the marinade and throw them in a paper bag full of the breading mixture. (Please note the super cute apron that my cousin, Hannah, got me)

IMG_2364

Shake it up!

IMG_2367

My friend, Pam, is a former home ec teacher. She informed me that I had to shake it above my head.

IMG_2369

Here they are, after being shaken in the breading mixture and before putting them in the oil.

IMG_2371

Throw it in the oil…

IMG_2378

Let them cook for a few minutes.

IMG_2375

Put them in the oven to keep warm.

IMG_2374

In the meantime, cook the waffles. Pam helped me out 🙂

IMG_2381

Here’s the finished product! We had bacon, waffles, chicken, and maple syrup. Everything was actually pretty easy (although there were a lot of steps) and tasted delicious!

Next week, Janine will be posting about Pan Sauces…super exciting, right? I’m sure she’ll find something delicious to share with us!

Leave a Reply

