Week 30 – Family Recipes

This was such a fun theme for me to about because I felt like I had a lot of options to pick from: potato sausage, spaghetti hot dish, Swedish meatballs, creamed corn, chocolate chip cookies…the list goes on. I picked two recipes from my favorite food group: breakfast foods!

First up, flat rolls, or as my family calls them, elephant ears.When asking my mom if she could get me the recipe, she said “Well, here’s how I do it…” She told me she didn’t have the recipe and said that she learned to make them from her mom, my grandma. So for you guys, I’m writing out the instructions below.

Ingredients:

Sweet dough or bread dough: It didn’t sound like my mom had a preference. I went with sweet dough because how can you go wrong with sweet dough??

IMG_2280

Cinnamon: I’m not sure how much…good thing I have a massive container at home!

Sugar: Also no measurement on this.

Butter: You better have one stick handy.

IMG_2281

Steps:

  1. Thaw the dough according to the instructions
  2. Roll the dough out into a rectangle (don’t forget to flour the surface!)
  3. Spread massive amounts of butter on the dough (I used probs 3 to 4 tablespoons)
  4. Sprinkle the dough with cinnamon and sugar

IMG_2282

5. Roll the dough up so it looks like a log

IMG_2283

6. Cut the dough in 1 inch (ish?) pieces

IMG_2284

7. Roll the individual pieces out in sugar

IMG_2285

8. Bake. My mom didn’t know what temperature or for how long (I think she was testing me), so I baked it at 350 and kept an eye on them. They were ready in like 20ish minutes.

IMG_2286

The end result was…not as good as my mom’s. Actually, I have to confess…I made these twice this week and neither time turned out great. The first try, I made them in the morning and luckily, my mom came over that afternoon to try one and tell me what I did wrong. I hadn’t rolled them out in sugar and instead just dipped them in sugar after they were rolled out. She also suggested I use more butter. On my second try, I rolled them out in sugar and tried to use more butter. They tasted a lot better, but still weren’t quite as good as when my mom makes them. I guess I’ll just have to keep trying!

The second recipe is for pancakes. Weird, right? Well these pancakes are way better than what you get from a box. I know, I know, the box is super easy and convenient. But if you just make up the pancake mix ahead of time, these pancakes are just as easy as what you get in a box.  And luckily, we have a recipe for the mix:

Pancake Mix:

  • 8 cups of flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 cup sugar

To make 16 pancakes:

  • 2 cups mix
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 egg (beaten)
  • 2 cups buttermilk

To make 8 pancakes:

  • 1 cup mix
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 egg (beaten)
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Then you just mix it all together and you have pancake batter!

Do you guys have any family recipes you’d like to share? Janine and I are always looking recipes that are tried and true!

Janine will be writing about next week’s theme: One Pot. Hopefully that will be another easy recipe we can all add to our dinner rotations.

Leave a Reply

