Week 29 – Potatoes

What’s ‘taters, Precious? 

Whenever I think about making or eating potatoes I always think of a silly scene in The Two Towers. 

We picked potatoes for this week mostly because of St Paddy’s Day and the common association between potatoes and Ireland. 

I love potatoes in all forms. I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in that either. Potatoes can come at every meal – breakfast potatoes, hashbrowns, mashed potatoes, french fries, baked potatoes, hasselbeck potatoes, potato salad. I’m not sure why I’m listing potato dishes, let’s just say it’s a versatile food and leave it at that. 

It also explains why potatoes became a staple of many cultures diets, and why the 19th century potato famine famine caused Ireland’s population to drop by roughly 2 million. 1 million died from starvation and related diseases. The other 1 million emigrated, many to North America. 

I really wanted to try “potato boats” for this week. I found a recipe that involves baking a potato, scooping out the yummy potato inside, cracking an egg and baking for it. 

  
I baked some potatoes

  
Scooped out the inside, but left 1/3 inch to form the walls of my “potato boat”

  
I cracked an egg and added some cheese. 

  
You can add all kinds of veggies, bacon, sausage, I just went for eggs & cheese. 

I also wasn’t thinking about the eggs. I’m not a huge fan of eggs over easy, I should’ve scrambled them before pouring them into the potato. I took a few bites of this one, and it was still yummy. I scooped the insides out of a second potato (they keep for a few days) so I’ll try it again. 

Things I learned. 

  • Scramble your eggs. 
  • Make sure to let the potatoes get to room temperature before you add the eggs, or you’ll be baking for awhile. 

Next week – Lisa’s taking on family recipes!

Leave a Reply

