Week 23 – Under $10

This week’s theme was right up my alley, because I’m all about pinching pennies right now.

I wanted something inexpensive, filling, healthy, and great for leftovers.


And something to fit in with this kind of weather.

I picked another SkinnyTaste recipe – SkinnyTaste Broccoli Cheese and Potato Soup with a few modifications. I had most of the necessary ingredients at home (garlic, flour, milk, chicken stock, salt, pepper, butter).  I thought I’d replace the potato with cauliflower – I’d been wanting to try that out for awhile. Next time, I’d love to try this soup with the potato, or adjust the cauliflower content.

I’d been craving Broccoli and Cheese soup for awhile. My mom makes it every year on Christmas Eve – but this year we were out of town so it didn’t happen.  After I cooked everything, I remembered that Mariah, our Holiday Traditions Guest Blogger, made another Broccoli Cheese soup . . . whoops!

This is what I didn’t have at home.

  1. Cauliflower (instead of potato) $2.99
  2. Broccoli $2.44
  3. Carrot $0.18
  4. Onion $1.12
  5. Celery $1.99
  6. Cheese $3.99

Guys. I went over budget. My total was $12.71. I’m going to blame that on the fact that I went for fresh veggies instead of frozen. And I bought too much cauliflower (wayyy too much cauliflower).


The rest of the recipe was pretty simple. Chopping onion, garlic, carrot, and celery and sautéing them.  (On the back burner is the chicken stock)

Adding the salt, pepper, and flour and string til smooth.

Boiling the veggies and cauliflower in the milk, and chicken stock.


Adding in the broccoli and cooking some more.

Tossing in the cheese. And the going at it with my immersion blender to thicken it.

This is why I love soups – there’s a bit of prep work, but in the end you just toss it in a pot and cook.  This soup doesn’t beat my Mom’s Christmas Eve Broccoli and Cheese soup – but it’s a pretty good replacement.

Things I learned:

  • I definitely need a new pot, something in between a sauce pan and a stock pot.
  • I liked replacing the potatoes with the cauliflower, but there was way too much cauliflower in the soup.
  • More cheese (or less cauliflower)!

Come back next week – we’ll have a guest blogger, Thad covering Week 24 – Beer!

Leave a Reply

