Week 20 – Ingredient You Hated as a Kid

When I was a kid, I was a vegetarian for, like, 10 minutes.

Okay, it was a little longer than that. I remember reading all kinds of books on it and making the very serious decision.  It was mostly because I didn’t want to eat other animals.  It definitely did not last very long.  I’m back to being an omnivore/carnivore, though I still don’t love the thought of eating meat.

Even after my vegetarian phase, I didn’t eat hamburger or ground beef for years. (I know, I was really missing out.) So when I was thinking about this week’s theme, that seemed like the perfect place to start. I wanted to do something more than just a hamburger, and thought I could try making meatloaf. As an adult, I realized that meatloaf is actually pretty delicious, but I’ve never tried making it myself.  I’ll definitely make this recipe again. . . it was easy, tasted good, and will be a great freezer meal.

I asked my mom for a meatloaf recipe:

Brown Sugar – Ketchup Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup ketchup or chili sauce (I used ketchup)
  • 1/4 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 4 teaspoons cider or white vinegar (I used white vinegar)

Meat Loaf:

  • 2 teaspoons vegetable oil (I didn’t read this and used olive oil…it was fine)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme leaves
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon hot red pepper sauce (I used Sriracha, obviously)
  • 1/2 cup whole milk or plain yogurt (I used 1% milk)
  • 2 pounds meat loaf mix (50% ground chuck, 25% ground pork, 25% ground veal)
  • 2/3 cup crushed saltine crackers (about 16) or quick oatmeal or 1 1/3 cup fresh bread crumbs (I used saltines)
  • 1/3 cup minced fresh parsley leaves

Directions:

  1. For the glaze, mix all ingredients in small saucepan; set aside
  2. For the meat loaf: heat oven to 350 degrees. Heat oil in medium skillet. Add onions and garlic; saute until softened, about 5 minutes. Set aside
  3. Mix eggs with thyme, salt, pepper, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, pepper sauce, and milk or yogurt. Add egg mixture to meat in large bowl along with crackers, parsley, and cooked onion and garlic; mix with fork (or wash your hands and use those, that’s what I did) until evenly blended and meat mixture does not stick to bowl.
  4. Turn meat mixture onto work surface and shape into a 9 x 5 inch loaf shape. Place on a foil lined baking pan. Brush with half the glaze.
  5. Bake loaf until internal temperature of loaf registers 160 degrees, about 1 hour. Cool at least 20 minutes. Simmer remaining glaze over medium heat until thickened and serve on the side.

So first, you have to make sure you get this meat mixture – it’s a combination of beef, pork, and veal. My mom said I’d have to special order it from the grocery store (remember I’m in Mankato), but then she found some in her freezer and said I could have it…this is one of the perks of living 10 minutes from your parents 🙂

Meat

Then I mixed it all up, according to the directions and I put it in these mini loaf pans. That way I could share with my parents.

Meat in Pans

 

My mom made sure to tell me  that meat shrinks when it cooks (this is probably obvious to most of you), so don’t worry about filling up the pans too full.

Side note. . . I asked my boyfriend if he’d like meat loaf for dinner and his first question was whether or not there would be bacon on it. I’m not a huge fan of meat on top of meat, but I did get some bacon to put on top of his little loaf pan. Another reason these small pans are perfect. . . you can individualize them a little bit. On his, I made sure to put the glaze on before I topped it with the bacon.

Finished product

Here is the finished product with additional glaze on top and mashed potatoes on the side. It was a success! I will definitely be making it again.

Next week the theme is “New To You”, which can be new foods, new techniques, new pans, etc.

5 thoughts on “Week 20 – Ingredient You Hated as a Kid

  1. As said “boyfriend” I’d like to add that bacon is good on top of anything. However, wrapped around this top shelf meatloaf, it was a marvelous culinary experience. Lisa failed to mention the key ingredient, which is of course “love.” #madewithlove

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I HATED meatloaf growing up – my parents and I recall me choosing to eat more ketchup than meatloaf on those nights. Drew, apparently loves meatloaf (news to me!), so I will be definitely trying this recipe soon. And, thank you Thad, now he wants bacon on top as well (can I also mention how much I hate raw bacon?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

