Week 7 – Apples

Recently, Janine went to our friend, Matt’s, apple orchard to pick apples and make cider. I thought I’d share some of the pictures for Apple week:

Orchard

Here is our friend, Chad, ready to get started!

Janine

Janine picking apples

Apples

Apples!

Press

This is the device that they put the apples into to make juice/cider. I’m not sure of the terminology, but I think of it as a press. Hopefully I’m correct 🙂

Friends

Chad, Lexi, and Danny hard at work!

I wasn’t able to attend this event, but I’m hoping Matt does it again next year. Janine said it was a lot of fun!

For this week, I made apple crisp. My mom once sent me her recipe, so that’s the one I always use.

Ingredients:

3 C chopped apples
1/2 C sugar
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/4 C water
1/4 C butter (cold)
1/4 C flour
3/4 C oatmeal
1/2 C brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 C nuts (optional)

Apples: So when picking out the apples, my mom usually goes to see this guy at the Farmers Market and asks him what type of apples to use and then picks up a bag of random apples. The Farmers Market wasn’t open yesterday, so I texted my mom and asked what types of apples would be best. She said Jonathon, Courtland, and Honeycrisp. She also told me to do a mix. I used a mix of Courtland and Honeycrisp. The recipe also calls for chopped apples…my only advice is to chop them all approximately the same size.

Steps…literally as easy as 1, 2, and 3!

Step 1: Combine chopped apples, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and water in a medium bowl. Put into a greased 9×9 baking pan.

Step 2: Combine butter, flour, oatmeal, brown sugar, salt, and nuts. Mix it like a pastry crust, so that the butter is mixed in and about the size of peas. I took the easy way out and mixed it in my food processor. Sprinkle this mixture over the apples in the baking pan.

Step 3: Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

Here is the end result:

Apple Crisp

I couldn’t get a picture before my co-workers dug in!

Next week we’re sticking with fall foods and the theme is Pumpkin! I love all things pumpkin, but Matt Bellassai seems to have a different opinion. Check out his Whine About It video for Fall. It’s pretty funny!

One thought on “Week 7 – Apples

  1. I was just talking to my grandma on the phone and I told her about how I made apple crisp for this challenge. She had just made it too and gave me a tip. She said that she makes double of the topping (butter, oatmeal, flour, salt) and stores it in the fridge or freezer so that the next time she has apples, she can just pull the topping out and make a quick dessert. She also said that she has put the apple mixture (apples & spices) in the freezer when she has extra apples.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

