Week 6 – Tacos

I was so excited for taco week. They are one of my favorite foods and I have tons of favorite taco related recipes: carnitas, barbacoa, taco chili, tortilla soup, hard shell, soft shell, black beans tacos, cilantro lime rice, nachos, etc. I sent Janine 9 (!) different recipes when she asked for ideas on what to make, and those were only ones I thought she would like. Now that I’m thinking about it, I really should have made a different recipe everyday this week!

The recipe I made was Quinoa Black Bean Tacos from the Damn Delicious blog. This is one of my “go-to” recipes because it’s easy, doesn’t take much time, and I usually have the ingredients on hand. It’s all made in one pan and literally takes right around 30 to 45 minutes. I actually made it on my lunch break today!

I know, quinoa might be off putting for some people…I get that the texture might take some getting used to and it might be difficult to cook for the first time. But it’s worth it to try it a couple of times. My healthy friends tell me that quinoa is good for you (maybe they will comment below!) and I think it’s a great way to take a break from meat.

Whenever you make quinoa for the first time (hopefully for this recipe) just take a couple of minutes to research how to make it. It’s super easy and basically like cooking rice. The recipe I used also tells you how to cook it. One tip: get pre-rinsed quinoa. And even then rinse it a lot. In order to rinse it, use a strainer like this:

 Strainer

So after you wash your quinoa, you’re going to want to cook this dish in a pan like this:

 Pot

You don’t have to, but it’s definitely easier because it’s big enough for all of the ingredients and has a lid.

Okay so I didn’t take a final picture at the end because I was on my lunch break and in a slight hurry, and pretty much forgot why I was making the tacos. You should definitely check out the recipe for the picture though!

The theme next week is apples! What are you going to make? There are so many possibilities!

One thought on “Week 6 – Tacos

  1. Pingback: Week 49 – Clean Eating | Lisa and Janine Try to Cook

Leave a Reply

