Week 2 – Picnic

Picnic was a great theme for Labor Day weekend, right? I didn’t go to a picnic or even a cookout. It was my birthday and I spent the weekend in Wisconsin at Devils Lake State Park with my mom and sister. We had a pretty great weekend, but no picnic foods were involved.

Instead of a picnic, I tried to think of something new I could bring for lunch at work. It’s basically the same thing, right? For a picnic you need something easy to transport, that doesn’t need re-heating and is delicious. All of that is necessary for my lunch at the office.

I decided to make a chicken wild rice salad that my mom has made in the past. It comes from a heart healthy cookbook, so I can’t provide you guys with a link. I’ll give you the ingredient list and instructions with a couple of pictures of the finished product.

2/3 cup mayo

1/3 cup milk

2 T lemon juice

3 cups diced cook chicken

3 cups cooked wild rice

1/2 cup finely sliced green onion

1 8-oz can sliced water chestnuts, drained

1/2 t salt

1/4 t pepper

1/2 pound seedless grapes, halved

1/2 cup cashews (chopped)

In a small bowl, blend mayo, milk, and lemon juice. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine chicken, rice, onion, water chestnuts, salt, and pepper. Fold in mayo mixture. Cover and refrigerate 2-3 hours.

Just before serving, fold in grapes and cashews.

Makes 8 portions.

Bowl picnic

Look, you can even be cool and hip (like me, obvi) and put it into a cute little mason jar for an individual serving.

Mason Jar

So next week is Kosher. I don’t want to pretend to be an expert on what that means because it can be pretty complicated. But I plan on picking a food from the BuzzFeed article “25 Classic Jewish Foods Everyone Should Learn to Cook”  As with all of these themes, there are no rules to follow, just make something that follows the spirit of the theme. Good luck!

3 thoughts on “Week 2 – Picnic

Leave a Reply

