Week 1 – Breakfast

You know what’s the best?  Breakfast.  Pancakes, eggs, hashbrowns, french toast, all the delicious things.

You know what’s even better?  Breakfast for dinner, or brinner if that’s your style.

Apparently, according to whoever decides these things, September is breakfast month.  Lisa and I thought breakfast was a great way to start our challenge.   And because I’m not a morning person, and my breakfasts tend to be on the boring side, I went for the brinner route.

Quiche is delicious.  The crust of a quiche is also delicious.  But trying to be health conscious means probably skipping the crust and loving the quiche without it.  So, now the Cheesy Sausage Crustless Quiche (which, according to my brother might also be a frittata, so, yeah).  The link for the recipe is at the bottom, along with some info about next week’s challenge.

Ingredients

First thing, the ingredients.  That’s pretty basic.  The lettuce was for a side salad that never happened.

Cooking 1

Whisk up eggs, milk, cheese, salt, and pepper.

Cooking 2

Frying up the sausage, green pepper, onion, and garlic.

Finished Quiche

I popped it into the oven for a bit and it came out like this.  It was pretty good, if I may say so myself, and I’ll probably make it again for breakfast or for dinner.  I changed up the cheese (marble jack), sausage (Applegate Chicken Sausage instead of Italian turkey sausage), and white onion (instead of yellow, just because).

A big part of this challenge, for me, is to learn, so I’m going to try and take a minute with each post and talk about what I did wrong or can do better.

  • I should’ve taken the sausages out of the casing (the flavor was fine, but it would’ve made things easier);
  • the garlic needed to be minced better and maybe a little more salt and pepper, too;
  • a little more cheese or a more flavorful cheese (this is not a surprise, I love cheese).

We’d love to see what you decided to cook for this breakfast theme, pass on any ideas you have for how to make this recipe better, or let us know your breakfast “tried and trues.” This challenge lasts through Sunday September 6.

Next week’s challenge: Picnic in honor of Labor Day cookouts and the end of summer.

Original recipe: Sally’s Baking Addiction: 140 Calorie Cheesy Sausage Quiche

4 thoughts on “Week 1 – Breakfast

Leave a Reply

